My alarm clock goes “heh” every morning

 

My trusty analogue alarm clock is set to go off at 7:30am. For the past 3 years, it has served me very well and never failed to wake me up on time every morning. Until the past half year. Something happened.

No, it didn’t die on me. Something else beat it to get me up first. By half an hour earlier everyday for the past six months. Something that went “heh”.

At just about 7am everyday. Softly at first. Then increasing in volume. After three or four “hehs”, if I still wasn’t up, what followed next was a slap across my nose and mouth!

I would lift my heavy eyelids to be greeted by a toothless grin and a squeal of delight from my one-year old daughter, Gloria. She just loves doing that to my wife and I..

In case you were wondering how she got to our bed, well she has been sharing our bed for the past six months! Gloria is such an active little one that we decided to let her sleep on our bed for her own safety. Even at six months, she was actually capable of climbing out from her own cot and potentially suffering serious head injuries if she had succeeded and landed head first on the ground. Especially when mummy and daddy were still sound asleep! And even if she could somehow climb safely out of her cot and onto the ground, she has proudly demonstrated to both of us before that she can climb onto our two feet high bed with ease. All it takes for her is to stand on her tippy toes, push herself up a little with her delicate but powerpacked forearms, swing a leg over the top of the bed and wriggle her way up! 

This entry was posted in Fatherhood and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment